999 CALL for NHS | Letter of support

To welcome the 999 CALL for NHS march to Leicester on its way from Jarrow to London, Labour MPs, Councillors, members, supporters and campaigners have published a letter of support.

The letter is published below.

Please share the letter and tweet your support. If you would like to add your name to the letter please tweet me or message me via my Facebook page.

You can find out more about the 999 CALL for NHS march here.

We are writing to support the Darlo Mums on their march from Jarrow to London and to welcome them to Leicester.

The symbolic march, which follows the footsteps of the famous Jarrow Crusade, draws attention to the Governments destruction of the National Health Service. Under the Tory-led government we are seeing a nationwide A&E crisis and growing waiting lists. We are seeing services privatised by stealth. We support and stand with the 999 Call for NHS marchers and campaigners opposing this damage to our cherished NHS. We want to see an NHS that stays true to its founding values.

Under David Cameron and Nick Clegg we have seen a £3 billion top-down re-organisation of the NHS which they said would not happen. We have seen almost a million people wait longer than four hours in A&E; waiting lists for treatments growing and at their highest levels for five years and thousands of frontline staff lost from the NHS.

The NHS needs saving again. We need a government that will back hard-working NHS staff to do the jobs they love. We need a government that will restore our pride in the NHS and halt the creeping privatisation of our health service. Labour will repeal Cameron and Cleggs NHS changes. Labour will guarantee a GP appointment within 48 hours and on the same day for those who need it. Labour will make sure NHS staff can focus on care and not competition law.

David Cameron broke his word on the NHS. Only Labour can save the NHS.

David Camerons Tory government, backed by their Liberal Democrat coalition partners, have proved one of the most established truths in politics: you cant trust the Tories with the NHS.

We applaud the 999 Call for NHS marchers, we welcome the marchers here to Leicester and we stand in opposition to these destructive changes to our NHS. To borrow a phrase from the Darlo Mums the NHS is used by us, owned by us and loved by us. We will not stand by and watch as the NHS is broken up. As a Labour Party we will always stand up for our NHS, we will defend it and we will fight for the Labour government we need to save our NHS.

Liz Kendall MP, Leicester West
Jon Ashworth MP, Leicester South
Keith Vaz MP, Leicester East
Peter Soulsby, City Mayor
Cllr. Rory Palmer, Deputy City Mayor & Chair Leicester Health & Wellbeing Board
Gavin George, Secretary Leicester South Labour Party
Matthew O'Callaghan, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for Loughborough
Jamie McMahon, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for North West Leicestershire
Sean Kelly-Walsh, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for Charnwood
Amanda Hack, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for South Leicestershire
Cllr. Sundip Meghani, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for Harborough, Oadby & Wigston
Chris Kealey, Labour Parliamentary Candidate for Hinckley & Bosworth
Glenis Willmott, Labour Member of the European Parliament for the East Midlands
Cllr. Adam Clarke, Aylestone
Cllr. Andy Connelly, Westcotes & Assistant Mayor
Cllr. Sarah Russell, Westcotes & Assistant Mayor
Cllr. Manjula Sood, Latimer & Assistant Mayor
Cllr. Deepak Bajaj, Evington
Cllr. Paul Westley, Beaumont Leys
Cllr. Anne Glover, Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields
Cllr. Vijay Singh Riyait, Abbey
Cllr. Dawn Alfonso, New Parks
Cllr. Malcolm Unsworth, New Parks
Cllr. Stephen Corrall, New Parks
Cllr. Annette Byrne, Abbey
Cllr. Bill Shelton, Freemen
Cllr. Dr Lynn Moore, Knighton & Secretary, Leicester City Labour Group
Cllr. Dr. Shofiqul Islam Chowdhury, Spinney Hills
Cllr. Vi Dempster, Beaumont Leys & Assistant Mayor
Cllr. Sue Waddington, Fosse
Cllr. Ross Willmott, Rushey Mead
Cllr. Iqbal Desai, Stoneygate
Cllr. Lynn Senior, Castle
Cllr. Virginia Cleaver, Eyres Monsell
Cllr. Elly Cutkelvin, Freemen
Cllr. Paul Newcombe, Charnwood
Cllr. Patrick Kitterick, Castle & Chair, Labour Group on Leicester Cit Council
Cllr. Su Barton, Western Park
Cllr. Ted Cassidy, Fosse
Cllr. Neil Clayton, Castle
Cllr. Michael Cooke, Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields
Cllr. Inderjit Gugnani, Knighton
Cllr. Mohammed Dawood, Spinney Hills
Cllr. Luis Fonseca, Thurncourt
Cllr. Lucy Chaplin, Stoneygate
Dr. Terri Eynon, Labour County Councillor for Coalville
Cllr. Sean Sheahan, County Councillor for Forest & Measham
Cllr. Heather Worman, County Councillor for Ibstock & Appleby
Cllr. John Legrys, Deputy Leader of Labour Group, North West Leicestershire District Council
Cllr. Dave De Lacy, District Councillor for Ibstock & Heather
Andy Furlong, Labour Party National Policy Forum East Midlands rep
Chris Hanrahan, Chair Leicester Labour Local Campaign Forum
Alison Smith, Campaign Against NHS Privatisation
Robert Ball, Campaign Against NHS Privatisation
Paul Green, Campaign Against NHS Privatisation
Honorary Alderman Ned Newitt
Angela Walker
Veronica Matthew
Jane Clarke
Radhika Madhani
Bryan Merton
Jonathan Marsland
Melinda Phillips
Mina Rogers
Yordan Nikolov
Yasmin Surti
Helen Lentell
Tony Redman
Annette Hogarth
Jill Friedmann
Rowan Walker
Pat Hughes
Brenda Worrall
Liz Martin
Revd. David H Clark
Janet Bliss
Gary Ransford, Chair, East Midlands UNISON Labour Link
Elizabeth Blackman, GMB
Richard Cheetham
Paul Martin
Susan Harrison
Val Meyrick
Malcolm Hunter
Karey Hunter
 Barry Dufour
John Wallace
Simon Rosenthal
Gabby Briner
Peter Worrall
Maggie Dufour
Phil Harvey
David Hurwich
Gemma Oldman
Ruth Petter
Kamran Basharat
Pragya Tomar
Vivien Addey
Jane Taylor
Justin Wood
Ian Davis
Elaine Halford
David Eno
Andrew Corley
Amanda Saunders
Michael Denoual
Hemant Bhatia
Raksha Pandya Wood
Dr Denis Tanfa
Edward Hasman
Katie Hasman
Emma Hasman
Jane Hasman
Michelle Hughes
Ervin Picari
Jason Pandya Wood
Dalilah Thompson
John Perry
Sue McKendrick
Penny Wakefield
Cllr. Nick Clarke
Cllr. Ron Adams
Cllr. Ray Woodward